The Line Vty 0 15 Cisco command

The 'line vty 0 15' command in Cisco networking is used to configure and manage virtual terminal lines (VTY lines) on Cisco devices. VTY lines are software-based interfaces that allow administrators to establish a terminal session over a network connection to configure and manage the device remotely.

How to Use the 'line vty 0 15' Command:

Functions of the 'line vty 0 15' Command:

Equipment Compatibility:

The 'line vty 0 15' command is supported on a wide range of Cisco networking devices, including routers, switches, and firewalls. However, the availability and specific functionality of the command may vary depending on the device model and operating system version. Refer to the Cisco documentation for the specific device you are using to obtain detailed information about the 'line vty 0 15' command.

line vty 0 15 Usage Examples

The 'line vty 0 15' command has the following examples:

conf t
Router#configure terminal
Enter configuration commands, one per line.  End with CNTL/Z.
Router(config)#line vty 0
Router(config-line)#password cisco123
conf t
Router(config)#line vty 0 15
Router(config-line)#login local

In this example, access to VTY lines 0 through 15 is restricted to hosts with IP addresses in the range to

Router(config)#line vty 0 4
Router(config-line)#logging synchronous

In this example, the logging level for VTY lines 0 through 4 is changed to synchronous, which means that all messages will be written to the log file immediately.

Router(config)#line vty 5

This command will disable VTY line 5, preventing users from accessing the router through that line.

Router(config)#line vty
Router(config-line)#exec-timeout 0 0
Router(config-line)#privilege level 15

This command will change the default settings for all VTY lines. The 'exec-timeout' command sets the timeout for user inactivity to 0 minutes and 0 seconds, effectively disabling the timeout. The 'privilege level 15' command sets the default privilege level for users accessing the router through a VTY line to 15, which is the highest privilege level.